Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year, announced at an awards ceremony in London every January.

Launched in 1971 as the Whitbread Literary Awards, they became the Whitbread Book Awards in 1985, with Costa taking over in 2006.

Costa Short Story Award

The Costa Short Story Award was launched in 2012. Although under the umbrella of the Costa Book Awards, it's judged separately and the winner is voted for by the general public.

Click here to read more.

Costa Book of the Year Winner

Luan Goldie

The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es has been announced as the 2018 Costa Book of the Year. Bart is pictured here with Lien de Jong - the 'Cut Out Girl' of the title.

Click here for more details

Costa Short Story Award Winner

Luan Goldie

Caroline Ward Vine, a former magazine publisher and now a strategic consultant to the creative industries and education, has won the 2018 Costa Short Story Award.

Click here for more details


via @costabookawards

So very sad to hear of the death of Andrea Levy, whose wonderful Small Island was named our 2004 Book of the Year. RIP.

15 Feb - 09:51

Don't miss our Costa Book Awards podcast hosted by the inimitable @hannahbeckerman and featuring chats with judges……

13 Feb - 01:16

Our pleasure!…

12 Feb - 09:31