Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year written by authors based in the UK and Ireland. There are five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book - with one of the five winners chosen as Book of the Year, announced at an awards ceremony in London every January.

Launched in 1971 as the Whitbread Literary Awards, they became the Whitbread Book Awards in 1985, with Costa taking over in 2006.

Costa Short Story Award

The Costa Short Story Award was launched in 2012. Although under the umbrella of the Costa Book Awards, it's judged separately and the winner is voted for by the general public.

Click here to read more.

Costa Book of the Year Winner

Helen Dunmore

Helen Dunmore wins 2017 Costa Book of the Year: Helen’s collection of poetry, Inside The Wave, has been announced as the 2017 Costa Book of the Year.

Click here for more details

Costa Short Story Award Winner

Luan Goldie

Luan Goldie, a primary school teacher from Newham in East London, has won the 2017 Costa Short Story Award.

Click here for more details


via @costabookawards

Clearly we've got nothing else on our minds today (Football match? What football match🤔 ) ... so just trying to kee……J

11 Jul - 03:55

(Fanfare) This year's Costa Short Story Award is now OPEN FOR ENTRIES till Friday 3rd August. So if you're aged 18……

02 Jul - 08:18

What better way to celebrate #NationalWritingDay than to remind all you writers out there (or at least those of you……

27 Jun - 12:33