Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year.

Since their launch in 1971, the Costa Book Awards have recognised a wide range of excellent books across all genres, celebrating the talents of authors and poets from the UK and Ireland.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. 

In 2012 we launched the Costa Short Story Award*, given to a single story and not voted for against the other categories. The winner is then chosen by the public from three shortlisted stories selected by our five judges.

You can find information on this year's winners below.

The competition is now closed

Entry to this year's Costa Short Story Award is now closed. We'll announce the three shortlisted stories here later this year. Thank you to everyone who entered the competition and good luck!

Costa Book of the Year Winner

The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es has been announced as the 2018 Costa Book of the Year, and you can watch him talking about his winning book by clicking the link below.

Costa Short Story Award Winner

Caroline Ward Vine, a former magazine publisher and now a strategic consultant to the creative industries and education, has won the 2018 Costa Short Story Award for her work 'Breathing Water'.

  • First Novel

    The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton

  • Novel

    Normal People by Sally Rooney

  • Biography

    The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es

  • Poetry

    Assurances by J.O. Morgan

  • Children’s Book

    The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay

The 2018 Costa Book Awards podcast

Listen to author and journalist, Hannah Beckerman chatting to the Costa Book Awards 2018 category winners and some very special celebrity guests.

Got a question?

We receive many enquiries about every aspect of the Costa Book Awards, so we've taken all the most frequently asked questions and answered them here.


*Costa Short Story Award terms and conditions