The Costa Book Awards honour some of the most outstanding books of the year in five categories. Find all the latest news and announcements here.

Celebrating great books since 1971

Costa Book Awards logo Recognised as one of the UK's most prestigious and popular book prizes, we've honoured some of the most enjoyable books of the year and championed authors based in the UK and Ireland for nearly 50 years.

Held annually, the awards welcome a wide range of books to be considered in five categories; First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book. From the winners in each of these five categories, one is selected as overall Costa Book of the Year.

In 2012, we launched the Costa Short Story Award for published and unpublished authors, inviting passionate writers to submit their stories via this website. The top three are voted for by the public, with the results being announced at the awards ceremony.

Check below for the most recent news and announcements from the Costa Book Awards, including shortlists, winners, entry and voting opportunities - and follow @CostaBookAwards for all the very latest news and updates from the team.

Voting is now open

Voting is now open for the 2019 Short Story Award. Get reading this year's three wonderful shortlisted stories and vote for your favourite.

Costa Book of the Year 2018 - Winner

The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es was announced as the 2018 Costa Book of the Year, and you can watch Bart talking about his winning book by clicking the link below.

Bart van Es holding his novel 'Cut Out Girl'

Costa Short Story Award 2018 - Winner

Caroline Ward Vine, a former magazine publisher and now a strategic consultant to the creative industries and education, won the 2018 Costa Short Story Award for her work 'Breathing Water'.

Costa Short Story award winner Caroline Ward Vine

Category Award 2018 - Winners

First Novel

The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle by Stuart Turton


Normal People by Sally Rooney


The Cut Out Girl by Bart van Es


Assurances by J.O. Morgan

Children’s Book

The Skylarks’ War by Hilary McKay

Costa Coffee customers in store with a cortado

The 2018 Costa Book Awards podcast

Listen to author and journalist Hannah Beckerman chatting to the Costa Book Awards 2018 category winners and some very special celebrity guests.

Got a question?

We receive many enquiries about every aspect of the Costa Book Awards, so we've taken all the most frequently asked questions and answered them here.


Click here for full Costa Book Awards terms and click here for full Costa Short Story Award terms.