Costa Book Awards

The Costa Book Awards is one of the UK's most prestigious and popular literary prizes and recognises some of the most enjoyable books of the year, written by authors based in the UK and Ireland.

Since their launch in 1971, the awards have rewarded a wide range of excellent books and authors across all genres.

Uniquely, the prize has five categories - First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children's Book - with one of the five winning books selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year. It is the only prize which places children’s books alongside adult books in this way.

Books are entered by publishers, and entry for the Awards closes at the end of June each year. Entry forms are available to download here from the end of May.

This year's shortlists have been revealed! View them here.

Download the 2015 Entry Form here.

Click here to see the 2014 Award Winners.

View all past Book Awards Winners (PDF)
View all past Book Awards Judges (PDF)
View past Book Awards Shortlists (PDF)

Key Dates For This Year

Close of Entry

Friday 26th June 2015

Category Shortlists Announced

Tuesday 17th November 2015

Category Winners Announced

Monday 4th January 2016

Costa Book of the Year Announced

Tuesday 26th January 2016

This Year's Judges

Each of the five Award categories has a panel of three judges. This year's final judges will be officially announced in December.

Read more about the category judges of the 2015 awards

Read more about the final judges of the 2014 awards

This Year's Shortlists

The 2015 shortlists have been announced.

Read more about the nominated books and authors for the 2015 Awards 

This Year's Winners

The 2014 Costa Book of the Year is H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald.

Read more about the Costa Book of the Year 2014

The five 2014 Category Award Winners were announced in January 2014.

Read more about the winners of the 2014 awards